Wednesday , October 27 2021

Vladimir Putin takes oath of office for 4th term as Russian President

Vladimir Putin was on Monday sworn in for a fourth term as president of Russia after winning the election in March.

He has been in power for 18 years, whether as president or prime minister. Putin was re-elected president with more than 76% of the vote, his best ever election performance.

First elected President in 2000, Putin renewed his four-year term in 2004 before stepping aside in 2008 to serve as Prime Minister under Dmitry Medvedev, because by law he could serve only two consecutive terms. In 2012 Putin returned as President for a term of six years. When he reaches the end of his fourth term in 2024, he will have been in power for nearly a quarter of a century.

Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'