Saturday , September 25 2021

BJP crosses halfway mark in Karnataka

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah was trailing in both Badami and Chamundeshwari constituencies by over 300 and 11,000 votes respectively. Another key player JD(S) of former prime minister H D Deve Gowda was maintaining its hold in the old Mysuru region, and its candidates were leading in 36 seats. JD(S) ally BSP was ahead in one seat and others in two.

BJP’s chief ministerial candidate, B S Yeddyurappa, was ahead in Shikaripura by a margin of over 9,800 votes, while JD(S) state president H D Kumaraswamy was leading in both Ramanagara and Channapatna. Prominent among those trailing include ministers Ramamnatha Rai (Bantwal), H C Mahadevappa (T Narasipura), Santosh Lad (Kalagatagi) and Vinay Kulkarni (Dharwad). Senior BJP leader K S Eshwarappa from Shivamogga, state minister Kagodu Timmappa from Sagara, and the chief minister’s son, Yatindra, from Varuna were leading over their rivals.

Others were leading in two seats. Polling was held for 222 of the 224 Assembly seats on May 12. Polling for R R Nagar seat was deferred on account of alleged electoral malpractices, while it was countermanded in Jayanagar seat following the death of the BJP candidate.

Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'