Wednesday , October 27 2021

Sri Lanka: Four new ministers sworn-in into PM Rajapakse’s Cabinet

The new ministers included one of the two MPs from the side of deposed Prime Minister Ranil Wickremsinghe who declared their support to new government.

The new government under Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa is reported to have the support of 105 MPs in 225 member parliament and his side is trying hard to woo MPs from other parties.

There is no final decision on when the Parliament will be convened to decide which side has the confidence of house.

Meanwhile, alliance supporting Rajapaksa is organizing a big rally near Parliament in Colombo on Monday to show their strength. Hundreds of security personnel are being deployed and traffic in the afternoon has been regulated to ensure a peaceful rally.   

Supporters of Wickremsinghe also gathered in Colombo on Sunday to protest against his removal and demand for early parliament session.  


Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'