Saturday , September 18 2021

Lawyers go on indefinte protest in Udaipur division for HC bench

Udaipur : Advocates and members of the Bar Associations of Udaipur, Rajsamand, Chittorgarh and Rajsamand began an indifinite protest at their respective district headquarters over the long pending demand for a High Court bench in Udaipur city.  Eleven members would now on stage protest from 10 to 4 pm everyday  outside the District and Session courts campus, informed RamKripa Sharma  the president of Udaipur Bar Association. On Monday, lawyers refrained from proceedings hence the work was suspended for the day. Fourteen people sat on the strike in the open,later a rally was taken out to Delhigate and a human chain was created at the court choraha  thus creating a huge jam like situation for some time. On Tuesday, women lawyers will stage  dharna for the whole day, spokesperson Harish Paliwal said.

“56.02 % of the total tribes of the state residing in this belt of Southern Rajasthan,  popularly known as Mewar-Wagad Region has been fighting for a High Court bench in Udaipur for past 3 decades. HC bench has remained a permanent agenda for candidates from all parties seeking votes from the electorate. However, after winning, no one cares to fulfill their promise” senior advocate Arun Vyas told Udaipur Kiran.

Existing Udaipur Division of 6 Districts Udaipur, Rajsamand, Chittorgarh, Dungarpur, Banswara and Pratapgarh is commonly called the Mewar- Vagad Region. Bhilwara which was separated from Udaipur Division to be included in Ajmer Division still is considered as a part and parcel of the Mewar Wagad region. Sirohi district falling under Jodhpur division, consisting of Abu Road and Pindwara is neighbouring tribal belt of the erstwhile mewar princely state. Mina, Bhil, Garasia, Damor ,Naikda are the main Scheduled Tribe and Meghwal, Salvi, Chamar, Rawal Balai , Khatik, Bairwa, Koli, Sargara are the main Scheduled Caste population of Mewar Wagad Region. The majority of the SC & ST population depend on agriculture and labour work. The rain fed fragmented and small holdings in the hills add misery to the plight of the thousands of Aadivasi families. In such a condition, to and fro traveling from the litigants place to abode to Jodhpur for securing Bail or other legal and civil relief,

the people of Mewar and Wagad Region of this Southern Rajasthan area is a night mare for vindicating of their constitutional rights for seeking justice irrespective of the fact that they may have a strong prima facie and good arguable case. A naïve tribal who hasn’t seen even a train finds himself hopeless and helpless when he lands at Jodhpur and finds no one to understand his Vagari and Bhomal dialect.

Geographical distance:

Jodhpur, the principal seat of the High Court  is at  a distance of more than 550 Kms from Danpur, Anandpuri, Pipalkhunt, Kushalgarh, Pratapgarh and Aronod Tehsils for people in Pratapgarh Banswara , Chittorgarh and Pratapgarh districts. A person has to change buses at three place first to connecting nearest town, then to nearest place of the district of bus stand and then for Jodhpur. The one way travel sometimes takes more than 24 hours journey. Thats why in the last 10 years there has been only 800 bail appeals and about 18,000 under trials released from jails. Train journey also takes more than 14 hours distant Tehsil head quarters of this region. For a resident of Pratapgarh one has to reach Mandsaur or Jawad, Neemuch in Madhya Pradesh and then board a train for Ratlam or Chittorgarh and again change train at Mavli, Nathdwara, Marwar Junction to reach Jodhpur. Sirohi part of which is within the Tribal Advisory Sub Plan of Udaipur is with proximity to Udaipur with a distance of 135 Kms than the 160 Km distance to Jodhpur.

Why Udaipur?

Udaipur is the central place and heart of the Mewar- Vagad Region. Its villages are most conveniently connected to all the neighboring districts, sub divisions, tehsils- panchayat samitis and panchayats including that of the Bhilwara and Sirohi Districts. The distance from Udaipur to Banswara, Dungarpur, Chittorgarh, Pratapgarh, Rajsamand, Bhilwara and Sirohi are 165, 110, 110, 145, 68, 160 and 125 Kilometers respectively.

Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'