Tuesday , October 26 2021

Congress sweeps Rajasthan local body bypolls

Jaipur: The Congress on Wednesday swept the Rajasthan local body bypolls held for Zila Parishad, Panchayat Samiti and Nagar Palika/Nagar Parishad members.

Out of 6 seats in Zila Parishad, the Congress has bagged 4, while BJP and Independents have won one each. In 21 Panchayat Samiti seats, the Congress has won 12, BJP 8 and Independent 1. In the municipalities, the Congress has won and the saffron party 2.

The win in the local body polls comes weeks after the Congress’ thumping victory in Rajasthan’s two Lok Sabha and one state Assembly seats in bypolls on February 1, 2018. The Congress had wrested Alwar and Ajmer Lok Sabha and Mandalgarh Assembly seats from the BJP by impressive margins.

Congress’ Hemlata Nayak has won in Ajmer’s Kishangarh’s ward number 36 and in Dholpur’s ward number 11 and 12, BJP’s Bharati and Ramji Lal have emerged victorious.

In Jhunhunu’s ward number 31, Nagma Bano has won, while Congress’ Paru has won in Sirohi’s Mount Abu. On the other hand, in Tonk’s Todarrai Singh’s ward number 12, Congress’ Ramswaroop has won the polls.

Meanwhile, in Zila Parishad, the Congress has won 4 seats, while the BJP and Independent have bagged one seat each.

Congress’ Seemwati has won in Barmer and in Dungarpur, Hansraj has emerged victorious. On the other hand, BJP’s Padma has won in Jhunhunu’s ward number 8. In ward number 1 and 18, Congress’ Meera and Sunil have won.

Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'