Apple is reportedly adding a new “Repair Status” in iOS 17.5 that will keep “Find My” on during a repair

Apple is reportedly working on a new feature that will allow iPhone users to keep Find My turned on even when they send their phone in for repairs. The new feature is called “Repair State” and is intended to provide a solution to disabling device tracking features that can compromise device security. This feature was discovered in the latest iOS 17.5 beta update. The global stable version of this operating system may be released later this month.

Apple iPhone 15

The feature was spotted by 9to5Mac in the iOS 17.5 Beta 4 code released to users who signed up for the beta program on Tuesday. The function should partially work for beta testers. According to reports, the repair status feature may have been added to allow users to track their devices even during repairs.

Apple currently requires users to turn off Find My when they send in their iPhone for repair. The instruction is also outlined on Apple’s support page, which states: “To prevent others from receiving service without your knowledge, Apple recommends that your device may not be serviceable if Find My is not disabled.” The idea behind this rule is to ensure that the person handing over the phone is actually the owner of the phone. However, the tech giant’s recent updates have made this more difficult.

Apple introduced protection against stolen devices with iOS 17.3. This delays access to important settings, such as: For example, deleting an Apple account or turning off Find My. Currently it takes an hour for Find My to deactivate. This means that if the user forgets to activate the feature and contacts an authorized repair center, he will have to wait an hour or come back later. This issue can be resolved through repair status.

According to reports, Repair Status Mode in iOS 17.5 Beta 4 allows users to check whether the iPhone has been sent for repair using their Apple ID and password. In this case, users will not be able to delete their Apple ID. This allows technicians to verify the device’s owner without having to disable Find My.

However, the publication warns beta testers not to enable this mode unless they send the device in for repairs. That’s because there’s currently no way to disable this mode, and once it’s enabled, you won’t be able to delete your Apple ID. It’s unclear whether Apple intentionally added the feature so that engineers could eventually remove it, or whether the stable version will have a removal option.