Saturday , October 23 2021

Sri Lanka: Group of MPs bring no confidence motion against new PM Mahinda Rajapaksa

The motion signed by leader of house Laxman Kiriella, reportedly has the support of 119 MPs in 225 member parliament. 

It was submitted to office of Parliament speaker and will be placed on the order book when Parliament next convenes. 

However, the uncertainty over convening of Parliament continues even as a spokesman from Rajapaksa side said the Parliament will not be convened before 16th of this month.   

Earlier, Parliament speaker told the MPs that President had informed he is prepared to convene Parliament next Wednesday.

Meanwhile, President Maithripala Sirisena on Friday said he assured UN Secretary General António Guterres that the appointment of the new Prime Minister was in accordance with the Constitution. 

He said he had a very successful telephone conversation with the UN Secretary General last evening. 

Sirisena is under growing international pressure for early convening of Parliament to decide who has the majority in house. 

Newly appointed foreign minister Dr. Sarath Amunugama on Friday said that there was no justification for the travel advisories issued by a few countries, since there have been no incidents of violence or disruption in the country following the recent events.

Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'