Sunday , October 17 2021

Next RS Deputy Chairman soon

Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman PJ kurien’s term came to an end on the 1st of July. The selection process for his successor will be carried out in the Monsoon Session. The norm is to elect the Deputy Chairman on the date set by the Vice President. The date is conveyed in writing to each and every RS member by Secretary General of the upper house.

Usually, the ruling party plays a significant  role in the election of the Deputy Charman as it does in that of the chairman. Deputy Chairman is usually selected from among the 245 members of the house and so in case of a contest, a candidate needs the support of 122 MPs.

A look at the figures reveal:

The BJP is the largest party in the RS with 69 members. But in the current scenario, the BJP will need the support of opposition members as well. The Congress party has 50 members in the house but in view of the changing condition of opposition unity, any of the Trinamool Congress’ 13, SP’s 13 members, TDP’s 6 members, 4 each of the DMK, BSP, NCP, CPI (M), 1 CPI and other members of non-BJP parties can all play an important part in deciding the winner. The 13 member AIADMK looks set to support the BJP but the 9 member BJD as also other smaller parties are not yet revealing who they will go with.

Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'