Wednesday , September 22 2021

Major reshuffle in J&K cabinet today; Kavinder Gupta to be the new deputy CM

The deputy Chief Minister Nirmal Singh, health minister Bali Bhagat and junior minister PriyaSethi, all three from BJP, are on the way out of the Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti’s  council of ministers while Sunil Sharma who is a junior minister from the party will be elevated to the cabinet rank. Kavinder Gupta will be the new deputy CM of the state after Nirmal Singh’s resignation.

The PDP is also inducting two new Cabinet Ministers including Mohammad Khalil Band, MLA Pulwama and Mohammad Ashraf Mir MLA Sonwar (Srinagar district) and drop one of the Ministers to keep its strength at 14. 

With two vacancies already existing in the quota of BJP and resignations of three more Ministers sent to Governor NN Vohra last night, the BJP is inducting an equal number of five new faces in the Council of Ministry  to keep its strength static at 11. 

The other new faces being inducted are Rajiv Jasrotia, MLA Kathua, Dr Devender Manyal, MLA Samba and Shakti Parihar, MLA Doda. While Shakti Parihar will be inducted as Minister of State, all four others will be the Cabinet Ministers. 

Governor N N Vohra will administer oath to the new ministers in the swearing in ceremony being held in Jammu this afternoon.

Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'