Thursday , October 28 2021

Karnataka votes out Siddaramaiah; BJP emerges as single largest party in the state

Siddaramaiah barely managed to hang on to the other seat he contested, Badami, beating B. Sreeramulu of the BJP by a slender margin of just over 1600 votes. Despite this the voters of the state did not deliver a decisive mandate, leaving the third party JDS holding all the cards. Of the 222 results declared BJP won 104, Congress 78, JDS+ 38 and others 2.

BS Yadiyurappa, the BJP’s chief Ministerial candidate, won the Shikaripura seat by over 35000 votes. B. Sreeramulu (BJP) won the Molakalmuru seat by over 40,000 votes. HD Kumaraswamy the JDS’ chief ministerial candidate won the Ramanagaram seat by a margin of over 23000 votes.

Jagadish shettar a former BJP Chief Minister retained the Hubli – Dharwad Central constituency by over 20,000 votes. 

As far as vote percentage goes, the Congress garnered 37.9 percent of the vote share, though it was more spread out, the BJP captured 36.2 percent which was more concentrated and hence translated into more seats. The JDS garnered 18.2 percent of the vote share.

The BJP made significant gains in Central and Coastal Karnataka. The BJP also made gains in areas marked by agrarian crisis.

Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'