Saturday , September 18 2021

Karnataka: Kumaraswamy wins vote of confidence

The three-day-old HD Kumaraswamy government in Karnataka won a vote of confidence without a contest, with the BJP MLAs walking out of the Assembly before the floor test, bringing an end to the 10-day high-voltage political drama.

Earlier BJP decided to honour the parliamentary tradition that the presiding officer should be chosen unanimously and pulled out its candidate Suresh Kumar from the race.

Congress’ Ramesh Kumar was elected the Speaker unopposed. While Chief Minister HD kumaraswamy said the government was committed to waiving farm loans, as promised during the elections, BJP threatened to launch a statewide agitation if it was not done as promised by the parties.

Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'