Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / Voting concludes for phase V of Lok Sabha polls

Voting concludes for phase V of Lok Sabha polls

Early voters to cast their votes include Union Ministers Rajnath Singh in Lucknow and Rajyavardhan Rathore in  Jaipur (Rural) constituencies. 

Polling held at 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 12 in Rajasthan, 7 each in Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, 5 in Bihar and 4 in Jharkhand. 

In Jammu and Kashmir, polling held in Pulwama and Shopian districts of Anantnag and Ladakh constituencies. 

Prominent candidates in this phase include Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, Rajyavardhan Rathore, Arjun Ram Meghwal and Jayant Sinha, BJP leaders Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Arjun Munda and Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi and Jitin Prasad.

In Uttar Pradesh, a total of 182 candidates including 26 women are in the fray for 14 constituencies. These include Sitapur, Lucknow, Raibarely, Amethi, Kaushambi, Gonda, Banda, Fatehpur, Faizabad and Behraich. 

In Bihar, 82 candidates including six women are in the fray for 5 Lok Sabha seats. 

In Jharkhand, polling held  peacefully in four Parliamentary constituencies. Queues were seen at the polling stations even before the beginning of the poll.
In Jammu and Kashmir, polling concludes peacefully in Ladakh Parliamentary constituency. 

Election to 542 Lok Sabha seats is being conducted in seven phases between April 11 and May 19. Election in Vellore constituency in Tamil Nadu has been cancelled following excess use of money power.

Results will be declared on May 23. 

Please share this news