Uttarakhand: New MLAs take oath of office.

Dehradun, March 21 : Out of 70 newly elected members of the fifth assembly of Uttarakhand, 69 members took oath on Monday. Protem speaker Banshidhar Bhagat administered the oath to all elected members. Earlier, Governor Lt. Gen. Gurmeet Singh administered the oath to Bhagat. Bhagat, who became MLA for the seventh time, administered the oath of office in the 70-member assembly. A total of 69 members took oath. Tilak Raj Behar, who won on Congress ticket, did not attend the event. Women MLAs were the first to take oath. During the swearing-in ceremony of the newly elected members of the Fifth Legislative Assembly, six MLAs took oath in the Sanskrit language. Rishikesh assembly constituency MLA Premchand Agrawal, Chaubattakhal MLA Satpal Maharaj, Kotdwar MLA Ritu Khanduri Bhushan, Ranikhet MLA Pramod Nainwal and Tharali assembly constituency MLA Bhopal Ram Tamta took oath in Sanskrit. Kishore Upadhyaya, who left Congress and joined BJP, was elected MLA from Tehri. He first took oath in Garhwali and then in Hindi language. After the ceremony, Protem Speaker Banshidhar Bhagat wished for the bright future of all the MLAs. Now, at 4.30 pm BJP Legislature Party meeting will be held to select the leader of the party. on ministers Rajnath Singh and Meenakshi Lekhi will be present as observers in this meeting. XC MYK SY 1728

Please share this news

Check Also

Kota Allen coaching institute student commits suicide, 19th in eight months

  Kota : In yet another suicide case at a coaching institute in Kota, a 17-year-old …