Breaking News
Wednesday , January 17 2018
Home / INDIA / Uttar Pradesh elections 2017: Campaigning for 4th phase ends

Uttar Pradesh elections 2017: Campaigning for 4th phase ends

LUCKNOW: Campaigning for the fourth phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections scheduled to be held on February 23, ended on Tuesday evening.

Prominent candidates to watch out for in the fourth phase of UP elections: :

Prominent candidates in fray include Utkarsha Mishra, son of former Leader of Opposition in the outgoing assembly Swamy Prasad Maurya; Independent Raghuraj Pratap Singh aka Raja Bhaiyya; Aradhna Mishra, daughter of Rajya Sabha member Pramod Tiwari; and Ujjwal Raman Singh, son of senior Samajwadi Party leader Reoti Raman Singh.

53 assembly seats from 12 districts will go to poll:
Districts in Bundelkhand region — Jalaun, Jhansi, Lalitpur, Mahoba, Banda, Hamirpur, Chitrakoot and Fatehpur — are among those that will see polling on Thursday.

Voting will also be held in Pratapgarh, Allahabad and Rae Bareli, the parliamentary constituency represented by Congress President Sonia Gandhi.

As many as 680 candidates are in the fray in the fourth phase of the assembly elections, including the maximum number of 26 from the Allahabad North constituency.

In 2012 SP won 24 seats of these 53 seats:

In the 2012 assembly polls, the ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) won 24 seats of these 53 seats at stake on Thursday, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) 15, the Congress six, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) five and Peace Party three.

On the last day of campaigning, all political parties pulled out all stops to woo voters.

Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav and Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi took out a road show in Allahabad, as did BJP President Amit Shah.


About editor