Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / United States, Russia veto EU statement on Turkey

United States, Russia veto EU statement on Turkey

As Turkey continues its barbaric strikes in Syria reaching at second day of the encounter, Turkish troops having encircled the border towns of Ras al-Ain and Tal Abyad.

Syria’s Kurds battled to hold off a Turkish invasion that deepened fears of a humanitarian crisis. 

Tens of thousands of people have already fled their homes in northern Syria, as Turkish forces gets ready to harshen up the attacks and step up their cross-border offensive on Kurdish-held areas.

Although, aid agencies fear the exodus could reach hundreds of thousands. 

Meanwhile, the U.N. Security Council failed to agree on a statement on Turkey’s counterterrorism operation in Syria at a closed meeting to discuss the action on Thursday. 

The U.S. and Russia vetoed a statement by five European members — France, Germany, Belgium, Britain and Poland — condemning the operation. The five European council members who called Thursday’s meeting — there are 15 member countries — urged Turkey in a joint statement afterward “to cease the unilateral military action.”  

US President Donald Trump later suggested that Washington could mediate between Turkey and Kurdish groups. Curently about 12,000 men linked to IS are held in seven detention centres across northeast Syria, according to the Kurds.


Please share this news