TMC early leader in Asansol LS, Ballygunje assembly bypolls

Kolkata, April 16 : Counting for Asansol Lok Sabha seat and Ballygunje assembly constituency bypoll, held on April 12 in West Bengal, began amid tight security at 8 am on Saturday, official sources here said . The by-elections were necessitated as Babul Supriyo resigned as the MP from Asansol seat in Bardhaman district after switching over to the TMC from the BJP, while state minister Subrata Mukherjee, who represented Ballygunje, died in November, 2021. Around 66.42 per cent and 41.23 per cent polling was registered in the Asansol Lok Sabha constituency and the Ballygunje assembly seat, respectively. At least 19 rounds of counting are to be held at Ballygunje, while 16 to 18 rounds in Asansol, that witnessed quite a bit of violence on polling day. Actor-turned politician Shatrughan Sinha contested from Asansol, where BJP MLA Agnimitra Paul and Left Front’s CPI (M) nominee, actor Naseeruddin Shah’s niece are in fray. As per initial reports, Trinamool is leading from both Bengal seats. Sinha is leading by more than 6,500 votes in Asansol. Supriyo is leading by more than 4,600 votes in Ballygunje. “I’m confident. The over 40 per cent voters turnout here rubbishes opposition’s unnecessary claim of false voting,” he told the media. PC-SJC ING

Please share this news

Check Also

Tech Mahindra soars on partnering with

Tech Mahindra is currently trading at Rs. 1278.00, up by 18.15 points or 1.44% from …