Six new Cabinet ministers take oath in Manipur

Imphal, April 16 : Manipur’s N Biren Singh government was expanded with the induction of six Cabinet ministers – five of them from the BJP- on Saturday.Governor La Ganesan administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers at an austere function in the Raj Bhawan. here.Apart from those from the BJP, one Naga People’s Front (NPF) lawmaker was also inducted into the cabinet.The ministers were Letpao Haokip, S Ranjan, L Susindro, K Robindro, Th Basanta (all BJP) and Khashim Ruivah (NPF).Five of the inductees have become ministers for the first time, while Haokip had handled the Youth Affairs and Sports portfolio in the previous Biren Singh government.Haokip had won as a National People’s Party (NPP) candidate in 2017, but successfully contested with the BJP symbol in this year’s Assembly poll from Tengnoupal seat.On March 21, Nongthombam Biren Singh took oath as the Chief Minister of Manipur for the second consecutive time with five other ministers, Four of them were BJP lawmakers – Th Biswajit, Y Khemchand, K Govindas and Nemcha Kipgen (all BJP), while and Awangbow Newmai was from NPF.The BJP has 32 Members and NPF five in the 60-member state Assembly. NS SSP

Please share this news

Check Also

Tech Mahindra soars on partnering with

Tech Mahindra is currently trading at Rs. 1278.00, up by 18.15 points or 1.44% from …