Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / President gives away Outstanding Parliamentarian awards

President gives away Outstanding Parliamentarian awards

Central Hall of Parliament bearing witness to a grand ceremony to felicitate the Best Parliamentarians  from 2013 till 2017 conferred on Members of Parliament for their outstanding contributions.

Dr Najma Heptullah won the award for 2013, Hukum Dev Narayan for 2014, Ghulam Nabi Azad for 2015, Dinesh Trivedi for 2016 and Bhartruhari Mahtab for 2017.

President Ramnath Kovind congratulated the winners for not only upholding the dignity of Parliament but also enriching it with their knowledge and wisdom.

Vice President and Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Venkaiah Naidu reminded members of Parliament of their duty towards maintaining decorum and the stature of Parliament.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said Parliament is a forum to debate and even criticise the Government. He said it is important for Parliament to function since the words spoken are on record and will become a part of history books. Prime Minister said that Parliamentary disruptions are a huge cost to the nation.

Speaker of Lok Sabha Sumitra Mahajan said that there can be differences of opinion but there is always space for discussion and debate in the temple of democracy.  She urged Members of Parliament to live up to their responsibilty in a democracy.

All the award winners shared warm memories of their days in Parliament and expressed their gratitude for the honour bestowed upon them.

On November 25, 1949, the father of India’s constitution Dr BR Ambedkar spoke of the need to give up the grammar of anarchy and to work towards a social and not just a political democracy. This perhaps is the message that all Members of Parliament must remember.

Please share this news