Friday , April 23 2021
Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / Polling for Phase I Lok Sabha Elections across 20 states to take place tomorrow

Polling for Phase I Lok Sabha Elections across 20 states to take place tomorrow

The buoyant mood in the four corners of the country, showing the readiness of the country for the festival of democracy.

Voting would start from Thursday morning on 91 out of 543 Lok Sabha seats. In most of the constituencies, polling would take place from 7 AM to 6 PM.

Polling scheduled will be different for Left Wing Extremism affected areas and the North Eastern states. 91 Lok Sabha constituencies across 20 states and Union Territories will go to polls on Thursday.

They include all 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana, all 25 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh, 8 Lok Sabha seats in UP, 7 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra, all 5 LOk Sabha seats in Uttarakhand, 5 Lok Sabha seats in Assam, 4 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar, 4 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha, 2 Lok Sabha seats each in Odisha, Jammu and Kashmir, Meghalaya, West Bengal and Arunachal Pradesh…..1 Lok Sabha seat each in Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura, Chhattisgarh, Andaman and Nicobar and Lakshadweep.

There are more than 14 crore 20 lakh voters and 1279 candidates in the fray in the first phase and more than 1 lakh 70,000 polling booths have been set up.

Poll preparations are complete for the first phase and lakhs of polling personnel have been deployed for the first phase. Adequate security personnel including Central and state police forces have been deployed to ensure free and fair polling. Polling will take place simultaneously for 4 state assembly elections.

All 175 assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh, all 32 assembly seats in Sikkim, 57 assembly seats in Arunachal Pradesh, and 28 assembly seats in Odisha.

All Lok Sabha seats in Telangana will also go to polls in the first phase. In Andhra Pradesh, assembly elections are simultaneously taking place with the Lok Sabha elections. One-third of the total of 45,959 polling stations in Andhra Pradesh are sensitive.

In Chhattisgarh, where the naxal affected Bastar Lok Sabha seat will go to polls on Thursday, the Election Commission made it clear that the polling will go as per schedule. Five persons including BJP MLA Bhima Mandavi, were killed in a naxal attack in Dantewada on Tuesday. The poll watchdog has appealed to the people to participate in the poll process in large numbers.

In Uttar Pradesh, where polling will take place for eight Lok Sabha seats, poll parties completed the final preparations and checked all the machines and equipments.

1.5 crore voters will be able to exercise their franchise in UP in the first phase for which 6716 polling stations with 16,581 polling booths have been set up.

In the North East, the stage is set for polling in Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Nagaland.

Preparations are also in place for polling in Sikkim, Tripura, Manipur and Assam on Thursday. Polling officials have reached their respective polling stations.

The Election Commission has made preparations for free and fair polling in West Bengal, Maharashtra and Odisha on Thursday.

In Uttarakhand, voters in all five Lok Sabha seats of Garhwal, Nainital, Haridwar, Almora and Tehri, will be exercising their franchise.

Among the key candidates in the fray are Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari, General VK Singh, Mahesh Sharma, Hansraj Ahir, Satyapal Singh and Kiren Rijiju…

RLD chief Ajit Singh, his son Jayant Chaudhary, LJP leader Chirag Paswan, former CM of Uttarakhand Harish Rawat, and Telangana CM KCR’s daughter K Kavitha…are also in the fray.

The stage is thus set for the first phase of polling for General Elections 2019 on Thursday and all eyes will be on which way the voters would sway in this election.

Please share this news