Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / PM Narendra Modi takes oath for 2nd term

PM Narendra Modi takes oath for 2nd term

Attired in his sharp churidar-kurta and a light pista color jacket, Modi arrived at the forecourt just moments before the swearing-in ceremony began and greeted the distinguished gathering. After the President Ram Nath Kovind administered him the oath of office and secrecy, PM Modi bowed with folded hands before the gathering.

Surrounded by about 8,000 guests, including heads of State and Prime Ministers from BIMSTEC countries, the ceremony was seen as a show of determination to help re-establish world’s largest democracy as a key player on the global arena as well as in the region.

He became the first non-Congress Prime Minister to have won a second consecutive term in office after the BJP won a massive mandate by bagging 303 seats on its own in the just-concluded elections for the 17th Lok Sabha.

Modi becomes the 15th Prime Minister of the world’s largest democracy, heading the BJP-led NDA government for the second time in a row.

Apart from PM Modi, 57 minister took oath at the sprawling Rashtrapati bhawan forecourt.

There are 24 cabinet ministers including Rajnath Singh, BJP President Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, D V Sadanand Gowda, Nirmala Sitharaman Ram Vilas Paswan of NDA’s constituent Lok Janshakti Party.

Others who took oath of office as cabinet ministers are — Narendra Singh Tomar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Thanwar Chand Gehlot, Ramesh Pokhriyal, Arjun Munda, Smriti Irani, Harsh Vardhan, Prakash Javadekar, Piyush Goyal, Dharmendra Pradhan, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Prahlad Joshi, Mahendra nath pandey, Arvind Sawant, Giriraj Singh and Gajendra Shekhawat.

The surprise pick of the pack was Former Foreign Secretary Dr S Jaishankar also made it to the Cabinet.

Nine leaders took oath as minister of state with independent charge are –

Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Rao Inderjit Singh, Shripad Yesso Naik, Jitendra Singh, Kiren Rijiju, Prahalad Singh Patel, Raj Kumar Singh, Hardeep Singh Puri and Mansukh L Mandaviya. Aprt from Prahlad Patel, all others have been ministers at centre before.

24 leaders who took oath as the minister of state are –Faggan Singh Kulaste, Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Arjun Ram Meghwal, V K Singh, Krishan Pal, Danve Raosaheb Dadarao, G Kishan Reddy, Parshottam Rupala, Ramdas Athawale, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Babul Supriyo, Sanjeev Kumar Balyan, Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao, Anurag Singh Thakur, Angadi Suresh Channabasappa, Nityanand Rai, Rattan Lal Kataria, V Muraleedharan, Renuka Singh Saruta, Som Parkash, Rameswar Teli, Pratap Chandra Sarangi, Kailash Choudhary, Debasree Chaudhuri.

The union government can have as many as 80 ministers in the 543-member Lok Sabha.

Top opposition leaders including former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress President Rahul Gandhi and UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, corporate honchos, film stars, chief ministers and a galaxy of leaders from BIMSTEC countries were part of the nearly 8,000 guests at the ceremony.

 The glittering ceremony was witnessed by a galaxy of leaders, diplomats, industrialists and prominent personalities from various fields.

Please share this news