Thursday , April 22 2021
Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / Oath-taking ceremony of newly elected MPs continued on 2nd day of 17th Lok Sabha

Oath-taking ceremony of newly elected MPs continued on 2nd day of 17th Lok Sabha

One of the prominent faces who took oath on the second day was, Om Birla, a BJP MP from Rajasthan. Birla has been nominated by the NDA as the speaker of Lok Sabha. Members of the ruling alliance were seen congratulating him as he took oath.

Apart from Om Birla, several other MPs from Rajasthan including P.P. Chaudhary, Rajyavardhan Rathore, Diya Kumari also took oath on Tuesday. BJP MP Sumedhanand Saraswati and several other members took oath in Sanskrit.

Senior Samajwadi Party leader and Lok Sabha member from Mainpuri constituency, Mulayam Singh Yadav arrived on a wheel chair for the oath-taking. Owing to his ailing health, the veteran Parliamentarian took oath earlier than scheduled. The senior Samajwadi Party leader has not been keeping well for quite some time now. Considering his poor health, Protem Speaker, Virendra Kumar advised that Mulayam Singh Yadav should be given priority. Later, he the official register was brought to him to his seat for him to sign.

Among the elected members from Punjab, Shiromani Akali Dal chief Sukhbir Singh Badal, Congress leaders Manish Tiwari and Parneet Kaur took oath today. Majority of parliamentarians from Punjab took oath in Punjabi. Gurudaspur MP, Sunny Doel also took oath on Tuesday, he was greeted with loud cheers and slogans of ‘Bharat Mata Ki Jai’ by the ruling alliance.
Three-time Congress MP from Kerala’s Thiruvananthapuram, Shashi Tharoor also took oath on Tuesday.

All elected members from Tamil Nadu, including DMK’s A. Raja, T.R. Baalu, Kanimozhi took oath on Tuesday. AIADMK leader Ravindranath Kumar took oath in Tamil.

Among the elected members from Uttar Pradesh who took oath on Tuesday were senior Congress leader Sonia Gandhi, and BJP MP from Mathura, Hema Malini. Post taking oath, Hema Malini greeted the house in Braj style with ‘Radhe Radhe’.
Later, it was the turn of Lok Sabha members from West Bengal to take oath. The various members of the TMC and BJP took oath in Bengali. During the oath-taking, several members of lower house chanted ‘Jai Shree Ram.’
At the beginning of the second day of the 17th Lok Sabha, the members who couldn’t take oath on the first day took the oath first

Lok Sabha Speaker will be elected on Wednesday and the President’s address will be held on Thursday.

Please share this news