Home / HEADLINES / Nepal: Ruling Nepal Communist Party wins maximum seats in By Poll

Nepal: Ruling Nepal Communist Party wins maximum seats in By Poll

The party has retained high profile Kaski-2 parliamentary Constituency. NCP candidate Bidya Bhattarai won from Kaski-2 defeating Khem Raj Paudel of Nepali Congress. The seat had fallen vacant after then Tourisim Minister and husband of Bidya Bhattarai, Rabindra Adhikari lost his life in a helicopter crash in February this year.

Ruling NCP has also begged one provincial assembly seat and 28 seats in local bodies. Main opposition Nepali Congress could manage one provincial assembly and 12 seats in local bodies. Rashtriya Janmorcha has got one seat of provincial assembly. Samajwadi Party begged 4, Rashtriya Janata Party Nepal got 3 while one independent candidate elected for local bodies.  

The by poll was held on Saturday in 37 districts to elect 52 people’s representatives including one member of House of Representatives (Lower House of the parliament), three provincial assembly members and 48 chiefs, deputy chiefs and ward chairs of local bodies.

A total 337 candidates were in fray in the first elections held after 2017 historic three tier elections.

The election was seen as a popularity test of K.P. Sharma Oli government.

The left alliance had registered landslide victory in 2017 elections with almost two third majority in the House of Representatives.

NCP had also formed governments in six out of seven provinces and grabbed most of the local bodies.

Please share this news