Sunday , April 18 2021
Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / Naveen Patnaik set for fifth term as Odisha CM

Naveen Patnaik set for fifth term as Odisha CM

After setting a new record with an emphatic win in the 2019 assembly elections, BJD chief Naveen Patnaik is likely to take oath as the chief minister of Odisha for the fifth consecutive term on May 27.

Much before the swearing-in ceremony, speculations are now rife over who will find berth in the Naveen’s new cabinet. Hectic parleys have reportedly begun amidst speculations that several old and new faces and women leaders will be given prominence in Naveen Patnaik’s new council of ministers.

A meeting of the newly elected BJD legislators is scheduled to be held on Saturday, and the new Cabinet is likely to be sworn-in on Monday, May 27, party officials said, speaking on condition of anonymity.

The oath-taking ceremony will be a low key affair as the State is still recovering from the devastation caused by Cyclone Fani, which hit Odisha on May 3.

The final Election Commission (EC) tally shows that the BJD won 112 of the 146 Assembly seats for which elections were held. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged 23, the Congress nine, the CPI(M) one and a solitary Independent was also elected.

Though the State Assembly has a total of 147 constituencies, the election to Patkura had to be postponed following the death of the BJD candidate.

Please share this news