Thursday , October 21 2021

Meghalaya LS polls: Agatha wins Tura, Pala retains Shillong

Shillong, May 23 (Udaipur Kiran): As expected Congress and National People’s Party (NPP) have shared two Lok Sabha seats of Meghalaya, results of which were declared today.

The results of Tura parliamentary seat exceeded all predictions of photo finish between Congress and NPP with Agatha Sangma defeating her father’s arch rival Dr Mukul Sangma by a massive margin of 63,775 votes.

Right from the morning, Agatha was on lead which she maintained till the end of counting.

Agatha, 38, who is the younger sister of Chief Minister Conrad Sangma and daughter of late Lok Sabha Speaker Purno Sangma, was elected twice to the Lok Sabha from Tura.

 Indian National Congress’ candidate Vincent H. Pala has retained the Shillong seat. He defeated his nearest rival of United Democratic Party (UDP) Jemino Mawthoh by 1, 52, 139 votes.  Pala was an union minister in Manmohan Singh-led UPA government.

Formal announcement of victory will be made after completion of VVPAT counting.

Agatha Sangma, who won from Tura parliamentary constituency in the 2009 elections and served as a minister in the UPA-II government, had won the Assembly elections from South Tura in 2018.

Tura has been without an MP since last year as Conrad Sangma was the sitting member and had resigned after taking over in the state.

Meanwhile, the ruling National People’s Party (NPP) has increased its strength to 21 members in the 60-member Assembly with its candidate Ferlin CA Sangma winning the bypoll to Selsella Assembly constituency on Thursday.

Ferlin defeated Congress candidate June Eliana R. Marak by a margin of 4,369 votes.

The victory has helped the NPP to emerge as the single largest party in the state.

The bypoll to Selsella Assembly constituency was necessitated following the demise of sitting Congress MLA and former minister Clement R Marak, the husband of June Eliana R. Marak.

The NPP is leading the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government with the support of its partners, the UDP – 7, BJP – 2, People’s Democratic Front (PDF) – 4, Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) – 2, NCP – 1, and three Independents.

Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'