Home / HEADLINES / Karnataka bypoll : BJP wins 12 out of 15 seats

Karnataka bypoll : BJP wins 12 out of 15 seats

Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanked the people of Karnataka for placing their faith in BJP. In a tweet he congratulated Chief Miniser BS Yediyurappa, team of Ministers in the state and party Karyakartas for serving people with utmost diligence.

He said Karnataka has voted for development and punished opportunism.Following the defeat, Senior Congress leader and former chief minister Siddaramaiah resigned as the Congress Legislature Party leader, taking moral responsibility for the party’s poor show in the assembly bypolls.
Meanwhile, by-polls were held on Thursday for 15 of 17 assembly seats left vacant by MLAs who resigned in July, causing the collapse of the Congress-Janata Dal Secular (JDS) coalition and the BJP’s takeover.

The BJP had to win at least seven seats to claim a majority in the assembly, which will have 222 members after the bypolls.

Please share this news