Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / Karnataka: BJP legislators to meet; Central leadership to discuss future course of action

Karnataka: BJP legislators to meet; Central leadership to discuss future course of action

With numbers in BJP’s favour, party MLAs are set to meet in Bengaluru on Wednesday, a day after Congress-JD(S) coalition government failed to pass the floor test in Karnataka Assembly. 

BJP is also expected to stake claim to form the next government in the state. 

As the much awaited trust motion moved by Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy was put to vote, 99 members voted for it while 105 against. The coalition needed 103 votes in its favour to win the motion as 20 MLAs — Congress-JDS (17), BSP (1), Independents (2) — skipped proceedings. This reduced the effective strength of the House to 205. 

The crisis of Kumaraswamy government began after a series of resignations from the ruling MLAs. The issue even reached the Supreme Court which provided a partial relief to the resigning MLAs, saying they should not be compelled to attend the assembly proceedings. However, Congress also approached the apex court saying it has a right to issue whips to its legislators under Schedule 10. The Court is yet to decide the matter.

BJP has said that the national leadership of the party will decide on the future course of action in Karnataka and will convey the decision to the state unit. Union Minister of Parliamentary Affairs  and senior BJP leader Pralhad Joshi briefed the media.

Meanwhile, two Independent MLAs of Karnataka   today urged the Supreme Court to allow them to withdraw their plea seeking its direction to the state assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar to conduct floor test on a trust motion moved by the H D Kumaraswamy government. 

The Congress-JD(S) coalition government on Tuesday lost the trust motion on the floor of the House. 

A bench comprising Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi and Justices Deepak Gupta and Aniruddha Bose was told by the counsel for the lawmakers R Shankar and and H Nagesh that they wanted to withdraw the petition in view of the recent development. 

The court asked why the counsel for the lawmakers and the Speaker were not there. Mukul Rohatgi is presenting the lawmakers while A M Singhvi is the counsel for the Speaker. The court said that it will pass the order only in the presence of counsel of the MLAs.

Please share this news