Tuesday , April 20 2021
Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / Indian Cricket Team in England for World Cup

Indian Cricket Team in England for World Cup

The Indian cricket team has left for England early morning on Wednesday to begin their preparations for the upcoming ICC World Cup 2019, which gets underway on May 30th. 

Here is India’s World Cup plan:

MAY 23: Rest day / Players to follow team protocol Meeting of team management followed by a full-fledged meeting of entire team. All concerns to be heard and addressed followed by a detailed session of charting out daily activity over the next eight days.

MAY 24: First full training session at the Oval followed by media interactions of all captains, anti-corruption and anti-doping workshops with ICC, photo shoots.

MAY 25: First warm-up game against New Zealand at the Oval.

MAY 26: Departure to Cardiff by road; Rest; Team meeting to take stock of first warm-up game.

MAY 27: Training at Sophia Gardens followed by press conference; Meeting of support staff with team management and senior players.

MAY 28: Second warm-up game against Bangladesh at Sophia Gardens

MAY 29: Team leaves for Southampton while captain Virat Kohli heads to the Buckingham Palace, London; All captains to meet the Queen at High Tea.

MAY 30: Rest in Southampton.

MAY 31: First pre-World Cup training session begins.

India’s schedule for ICC World Cup 2019:

June 5: South Africa vs India, Southampton
June 9: India vs Australia,  London
June 13: India vs New Zealand, Nottingham
June 16: India vs Pakistan, Manchester
June 22: India vs Afghanistan, Southampton
June 27: West Indies vs India, Manchester
June 30: England vs India, Birmingham
July 2 : Bangladesh vs India, Birmingham
July 6: Sri Lanka vs India, Leeds

Virat Kohli will be leading the Men in Blue for the first time in a World Cup as he eyes his first world title as a captain. Kohli will be playing his third World Cup, he has already been a part of the showpiece event twice in 2011 and 2015.In this edition of World Cup, ICC has made some changes in format as the round-robin league will make a comeback after 1992 Benson & Hedges World Cup. Under the format, each team will contest in nine group games and the top four will advance to the knockouts.

Please share this news