Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / Goa legislative party splits; rebel MLAs join BJP

Goa legislative party splits; rebel MLAs join BJP

The Congress is losing it’s floundering fight against an epidemic of desertions..Karnataka was being fought tooth and nail but another seam got ripped open in Goa..

The 10 Congress MLAs who split the legislative party in Goa on Wednesday..reached the national capital the next day led by Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant to pledge allegiance to the BJP and the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi..Among their first ports of call was BJP President Amit Shah..

Later in the day..all the 10 rebel MLAs were officially inducted into the lotus party at its headquarters in the presence of Working party President J P Nadda..Among those who let go of the Congress’s hand to hold aloft the BJP’s lotus is former

Goa Leader of Opposition Chandrakant Kavlekar..The other MLAs are Atanasio Monserrate, Jennifer Monserrate, Nilkant Halarnkar, Tony Fernandes, Francis Silveira, Wilfred De Sa, Filipe Neri Rodgrigues, Clafasio Dias and Isidore

Fernandes..The BJP declared that all the legislators have left the Congress to join the BJP in the interest of development of their constituencies..

The Congress response to the spate of desertions is that the party has faced similar situations in the past & it’s the deserters who’ve ultimately suffered..

No one can predict the future..but for now the BJP has become 27-member strong in the 40-member Goa assembly..The Congress has dimished in size to 5 MLAs from it’s single largest position in the state assembly after the 2017 Goa polls..The Goa desertion coupled with the resignation of MLAs in Karnataka and quitting of senior party officials in the central leadership is not only raising questions about the leadership of the party high command but also its future.

Please share this news