Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / EC removes Kolkata police chief

EC removes Kolkata police chief

In two major moves just before elections, EC removed Kolkata Police Commissioner Anuj Sharma and Bidhannagar Police Commissioner Gyanwant Singh on Friday ahead of the Lok Sabha elections in a major shake-up in the police establishment of the state.

Rajesh Kumar has been appointed the new police commissioner of Kolkata. The EC has written to Chief Secretary West Bengal regarding transfer and posting of few officers in the state in view of the poll preparedness.

The Election Commission also took Andhra Pradesh chief secretary Anil Chandra Punetha (1984 batch) out of the election duties and appointed senior IAS officer L V Subrahmanyam (1983 batch) as the new chief secretary.

Please share this news