Counting underway for one LS, 4 assembly bypolls

New Delhi, April 16 : Counting of votes for bye-elections to one Lok Sabha seat and four assembly seats across West Bengal, Bihar, Chhattisgarh and Maharashtra is underway on Saturday. The Trinamool Congress has much at stake with two key candidates in fray — Shatrughan Sinha from Asansol Lok Sabha and BJP-exiter Babul Supriyo from Ballygunge assembly seat. The other three assembly seats are Chhattisgarh’s Khairagarh, Bihar’s Bochahan, and Maharashtra’s Kolhapur North. Actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha is representing the Asansol Lok Sabha seat, which at one time was held by Supriyo. He is up against BJP’s Agnimitra Paul. Supriyo quit the BJP and joined the Mamata Banerjee-led party. As per initial reports, Trinamool is leading from both Bengal seats. Shatrughan Sinha is leading by more than 6,500 votes in Asansol. Supriyo is leading by more than 4,600 votes in Ballygunge.“I’m confident. The over 40 per cent voters turnout here rubbishes opposition’s unnecessary claim of false voting,” he told the media. As per official early trends by the Election Commission, RJD is leading on Bochahan Assembly seat in Bihar. Fifteen candidates are in the fray for the Kolhapur North constituency assembly seat in Maharashtra that fell vacant after the death sitting Congress MLA Chandrakant Jadhav due to Covid in December 2021. The Congress has fielded Jayashree Jadhav – the wife of the late MLA from the Kolhapur North seat, while the BJP has fielded Satyajit Kadam. ING

Please share this news

Check Also

Shree Cement surges on getting nod to raise funds up to Rs 700 crore via NCDs

Shree Cement is currently trading at Rs. 26002.40, up by 162.60 points or 0.63% from …