Home / HEADLINES / Campaigning for 2nd phase of Jharkhand assembly polls ends

Campaigning for 2nd phase of Jharkhand assembly polls ends

Twenty Assembly constituencies spread over seven districts will go to the polls in this phase on Saturday. The polling would take place in Assembly constituencies of East Singhbhum, West Singhbhum, Saraikela-Kharsawan, Ranchi, Khunti, Gumla and Simdega districts.

On the last day of campaigning, star campaigners and senior leaders of all political parties made last-ditch efforts to woo voters. After the conclusion of the campaign, nominees are busy in door-to-door campaign.

Senior BJP leader and Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath, Chief Minister Raghubar Das, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha Working President Hemant Soren, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha President Babulal Marandi, All Jharkhand Students Union Chief Sudesh Kumar Mahto and RJD leader Tejaswi Prasad Yadav addressed public meetings and rallies in support of their party candidates.

In all, 260 candidates including 29 women are in the fray in the second phase. In this phase except Jamshedpur East, Jamshedpur West and Baharagora, sixteen constituencies are reserved for Scheduled Tribes while Jugsalai seat is reserved for Scheduled Caste community.

The poll-bound 18 out of total 20 Assembly seats are Naxal- affected. Out of 5,784 polling booths of this phase, 1,844 are critical.

Please share this news