Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / Bye-elections show mixed results

Bye-elections show mixed results

The by-elections held on the 21st of October had 2 Lok Sabha & 51 assembly seats up for grabs in 17 states and one union territory.

These included Bihar’s Samastipur & Maharashtra’s Satara Lok Sabha seats and 11 assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh, 6 in Gujarat, 5 each in Bihar & Kerala, 4 each in Punjab and Assam and 3 in Sikkim.

Two each assembly seats also went to the hustings in Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu and Himachal Pradesh and one seat each was being contested in Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Odisha, Puducherry, Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Arunachal Pradesh.

In the by-elections for 6 Gujarat assembly seats. Alpesh Thakore who switched sides from the Congress to the BJP lost him Radhanpur seat by a landslide. The two national parties otherwise split the six seats evenly among them in the state.

Bihar by-elections have delivered a jolt for the ruling JD(U)-BJP coalition.

The ruling coalition could win only one assembly seat among the 5 polled, the RJD got two and two went to others. The Samastipur Lok Sabha by-poll was one by LJP Chief Ram Vilas Paswan’s nephew Prince Raj.

In Maharashtra’s Satara Lok Sabha seat bypoll..the NCP is leading the fray of candidates.

In Assam, the ruling BJP has won 3 of the 4 assembly seats which witnessed bypolls..1 seat has gone to the AIUDF.

In Chhattisgarh, the Congress registered victory in the lone bypoll contest for the Chitrakot assembly seat.

In the 11 assembly seats up for grabs in Uttar Pradesh, 7 seats went to the BJP, 3 to the Samajwadi Party, and 1 was claimed by the Apna Dal (Sonelal).

5 assembly seats also witnessed bypolls in Kerala where a keen contest was seen between the ruling LDF and Congress led UDF..The CPM bagged 2, Congress 2 and the Muslim League got 1 seat.

4 assembly seats also witnessed bypolls in Punjab.The ruling Congress won 3 but lost the prestigious Dakha seat contest to the opposition’s Shiromani Akali Dal.

In Rajasthan, bypolls were held for 2 assembly seats and both the ruling Congress and the BJP ally RLP shared them evenly.

In the by-elections held for 3 assembly seats in Sikkim..the BJP won 2 seats and the Krantikari Morcha bagged 1..Former Indian football team captain Bhaichung Bhutia was also in the electoral fray for the Gangtok seat on the Hamaro Sikkim Party ticket..he could’nt score the poll win goal.

And in case of the 2 assembly seats that went to the hustings in Himachal Pradesh, the BJP grabbed both Dharamshala and Pacchad with a 43% vote share.

Please share this news