Home / HEADLINES / BJP leads in Karnataka by-polls

BJP leads in Karnataka by-polls

In Karnataka, BJP is poise to sweep Bypolls in the state. Ruling BJP won or leading on 12 of 15 assembly seats. The BJP needs to win at least seven seats to remain in a majority in the assembly. Around 68 per cent polling was recorded in Thursday’s bypolls.

By-election was necessitated following the resignation of 14 Congress and three JD-S MLAs. Bypolls in two seats – Muski in Raichur district and RR Nagar in Bengaluru southwest were not held due to a litigation in the Karnataka High Court on their results in the May 2018 Assembly elections.

The BJP and the opposition Congress contested all 15 seats, while JD-S fielded its candidates for 12 seats. In the previous elections, the Congress had won in 12 of those 15 seats and the JDS won remaining three. At present, BJP has 105, Congress 66 and JD(S) 34 members in the assembly.

Please share this news