Saturday , October 16 2021

Archaic NIPFP website still shows former Finance Ministry babus

New Delhi, Sep 26 (IANS) The National Institute of Public Finance and Policy (NIPFP), whose director Rathin Roy was ousted from the Economic Advisory Council (EAC) to Prime Minister on Wednesday, has not updated its website.

As per the outdated website, NIPFP governing body continues to be packed with former secretaries and advisor in the Finance Ministry, who are no longer in service.

The NIPFP website mentions among its governing body members, three nominees of the Finance Ministry. The archaic website mentions Hasmukh Adhia as Revenue Secretary, Subhash Chandra Garg as Economic Affairs Secretary and Arvind Subramanian as Chief Economic Adviser.

Adhia demitted office as Finance and Revenue Secretary and retired on November 30, 2018 while Subramanian left the Finance Ministry on June 20, 2018. Garg was shifted as Power Secretary on July 24 and has sought voluntary retirement from service.

Similarly, the NIPFP website mention as special invitees the outdated names of former heads of direct and indirect taxes. Sushil Chandra who is now an Election Commission member also continues to be named as chairman of Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) and Vanaja Sarna is named as chairperson, CBEC.

As per the website, the governing body was reconstituted in a meeting held on March 19, 2016, for a further period of 4 years i.e. from April 5, 2016 to April 4, 2020.

An autonomous research institute under the Ministry of Finance, the NIPFP seems to be unable to update its website in this digital age. While it is closely tracking economic trends, there seems to be callousness in updating its own governing body details.



Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'