Sunday , October 24 2021

All top Grand Alliance leaders lose, Lalu legacy over, Paswan shines

Patna, May 23 (Udaipur Kiran): Belying all poll predictions,the ruling NDA got a landslide victory in Bihar on Thursday. All top leaders of the Grand Alliance, including their national presidents are among the losers. The union law and justice minister, Ravishankar Prasad was leading by over 2.5 lakh votes against his nearest Congress rival, Shatrughan Sinha.
The much publicised Begusarai contituency, which attracted national and international media too joined the grand, gala show of the BJP as the union minister, Giriraj Singh, defeated his nearest young rival, Kanhaiya Kumar of CPI by a huge margin of over three lakh votes, indicating even the OBCs, EBCs and Muslims and Yadavs supported Giriraj in a highly polarised  election campaign.
Giriraj Singh dedicated  his victory to the Prime Minister, Narendra Modi and said, “It is the victory of Mahadev (Lord Shiva) and Modi”. BJP national spokesman, Shahnawaj Hussain, said, “People voted for Modi only. They did not remember the names of the candidates of NDA even, but only Modi”.
Jeetan Ram Manjhi, former chief minister who headed the national HAM(S) party was defeated by an young JDU candidate, Vijay Kumar Manjhi at Gaya. Another national president of  a party allied with the Grand Alliance-Upendra Kushwaha of the RLSP, who had contested from both Ujiyarpur and Karakat in two corners of the state, lost from both the places. He was defeated by state BJP president, Nityananad Rai at Ujiyarpur and at Karakat by JDU’s Mahabali Singh.
Another top leader of Grand Alliance, Mukesh Sahni, alias son of Mullah, who headed the Vikashsheel Insaan Party is among the losers of GA. Former speaker of Lok Sabha, Ms Meira Kumar of the Congress has been defeated by Chhedi Paswan of the BJP at his father’s traditional seat-Sasaram, from Jagjiwan Ram was elected eight times to Lok Sabha.
Ms Heena Sahab, wife of the  jailed Don, Mohammad Shahbuddin, who contested as RJD candidate has been defeated in Siwan, by Kavita Singh of JDU. Kavita too is wife of another Don, Ajay Singh.
Both Manjhi and Kushwaha, reacting to the poorest ever show of opposition in the elections said there was lack of co-ordination among the alliance partners.We need immediate introspection.We could not judge the mood of the people, they said.
From the prestigious Patna Saheb constituency, the veteran film hero and Congress candidate, Shatrughan Sinha lost heavily to the union law and justice minister Ravi Shankar Prasad who claimed it the victory of  aasha (hope) lover awasharvadita (opportunitism).
BJP leaders gave full credit to Narendra Modi for the victory of NDA in Bihar. Rajiv Ranjan Prasad, spokesman of JDU, however, said, “It was the face of Nitish Kumar which attracted the votes of all sections. Nitish Kumar has winnable face”.
The traditional vote bank of RJD, Muslims and Yadavs, appeared to have slipped away from RJD fold which was evident from the victory of the BJP candidates even in the Muslim dominated constituencies of Katihar and Araria and of JDU in Purnia.
They rejected the former president of JDU, Sharad Yadav at Madhepura from where the JDU’s Dinesh Chandra Yadav was declared elected. Rajesh  Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav and his wife, Ranjeeta Ranjan too lost the elections.
The influence of Lalu Yadav over the MY vote bank has come to an end  was further fortified when  in the by-election to state assembly from Dehri On Sone, RJD candidate lost to Satyanarayan Yadav of BJP by a huge margin of over 34000 votes. Dehri-On Sone was a traditional seat of RJD as it elected the former PWD minister, Mohammad Illyas Hussain in the past. His conviction by a CBI court last year necessiated by-election.
Tejashwi Yadav, who was the star campaigner of the Grand Alliance, led the campaign and decided the candidates failed to enthuse the MY vote bank. His leadership has been questioned even by his elder brother, Tejpratap  Yadav, during the campaign,and now with the charges of lack of co-ordination, his leadership has come under cloud.
While Lalu brand of politics is coming to an end, the Paswan politics continues to shine. Two brothers – Pashupati Kumar Paras and Ramchandra Paswan and son, Chirag  Paswan have been elected to Lok Sabha from Hajipur, Samastipur and Jamui. Ram Vilas Paswan is all set to be sent to Rajya Sabha from Assam next month.
Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'