Tuesday , July 23 2019
Breaking News
Home / All set for 2nd phase of Lok Sabha elections tomorrow

All set for 2nd phase of Lok Sabha elections tomorrow

Images from four different corners of the country making it evident that it’s all set for the second phase of general elections on Thursday.

95 of the country’s 543 lok sabha seats going to polls starting at 7 am. Voting for most seats will wind up by 6 pm. Polling concludes earlier in some naxal affected and North East seats.


— The 95 Lok Sabha seats going to polls in phase II are spread out over 11 states and one union territory
— Over 15 crore voters will seal the fate of 1,596 candidates on these seats
— Apart from 38 of the total of 39 seats in Tamil Nadu..this phase will see voting take place for 14 of 28 seats in Karnataka, 10 of 48 seats in Maharashtra, 8 of 80 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 5 of 40 in Bihar, 5 of 21 seats in Odisha, 5 of 14 in Assam, 3 of 11 in Chhattisgarh, one of 2 in Manipur and the lone seat in Puducherry
— 35 of 147 seats in the Odisha assembly are also polling in the same phase
— And bypolls are also being held for 18 of 243 assembly seats in Tamil Nadu

Preparations for voting are complete with lakhs of personnel deployed to ensure free, fair and secure polling..Both central paramilitary and state police forces are being deployed to maintain vigil..The entire state of Tamil Nadu with its 39 seats is voting except for the cancelled election in Vellore because of exorbitant cash seizures a few days ago.

Phase II is also seeing election being held in 10 seats in Maharashtra and 14 in Karnataka..All poll preparations have been completed in both the states.

Among the 8 seats that are voting in Uttar Pradesh on Thursday are Agra, Mathura, Nagina, Amroha, Bulandshahar, Aligarh, Hathras & Fatehpur Sikri..All preparations for polling are in place.

The same day will see multiple seats going to polls in West Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Assam and Odisha..Adequate arrangements have been made to ensure incident free voting.

In Bihar, the second phase will see voting for the Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Bhagalpur & Banka seats. The Election Commission has made all arrangements for free and fair polling.

2 seats in Jammu & Kashmir are also going to polls in the second phase..12 candidates are wying for the Srinagar-Budgam seats with over 12.95 lakh voters..All arrangements are also in place for voting in the Udhampur seat.

In case of the North East..voting is taking place for one seat in Manipur where polling officials have been deployed to all far flung areas.

Voting was scheduled to be held for the Tripura East seat as well but the Election Commission postponed the election for the 23rd of April owing to security concerns..Prominent candidates include.

— Former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda
— BJP leader and MoS PMO Jitendra Singh
— Union Minister Sadananda Gowda
— Film actor and MP Hema Malini
— Former Union Minister Dayanidhi Maran
— DMK leader Kanimozhi
— Former Maharashtra CM Ashok Chavan
— Former Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde
— Former Law Minister Veerappa Moily
— UP Congress President Raj Babbar
— Former NCP co-founder Tariq Anwar
— Scam accused Karti Chidambaram
— Former J&K CM Dr Farooq Abdullah
— CPM MP Mohammed Salim
— and BSP leader Danish Ali

Clearly, politicians and eletion officials have done their part for the second phase of general elections. It’s now time for election machinery, security and voters to step up.

Click & Download Udaipur Kiran App to read Latest News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Click & Download Udaipur Kiran App to read Latest News


Click & Download Udaipur Kiran App to read Latest News