Thursday , October 28 2021

5-a-side hockey nationals: Karnataka, Haryana corner glory

Kanpur, Sep 27 (IANS) Hockey Karnataka defeated Uttar Pradesh Hockey to win the men’s title for the third consecutive year, while Hockey Haryana beat Uttar Pradesh Hockey to emerge victorious in the women’s section at the 4th Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship here on Friday.

Hockey Haryana recorded a comfortable 4-2 victory over hosts Uttar Pradesh Hockey in the final to lift the women’s crown. Monika Sihag got Hockey Haryana off to a great start with 2 goals in the 6th and 7th minute.

Uttar Pradesh tried to fight back with a couple of goals in the second half, but Hockey Haryana ensured that they stayed in the lead. Apart from Sihag, Deepika scored for Hockey Haryana in the 8th and 16th minute, while Anuja Singh (12′, 13′) scored both the goals for Uttar Pradesh Hockey.

Hockey Jharkhand beat Hockey Odisha 3-2 in a high-octane match to win the bronze in the women’s category.

In the men’s final, Hockey Karnataka defeated Uttar Pradesh Hockey 7-3 to be crowned champions. Hockey Karnataka got off to a good start with Abharan Sudev scoring twice in the opening minutes of the match, but Uttar Pradesh Hockey fought back by netting 3 goals before the half-time whistle.

However, Hockey Karnataka changed their game and completely dominated the second half, pumping in 5 goals through Abharan Sudev (17′), B.M. Likhit (15′, 20′), Mohammed Raheel Mouseen (11′) and Somaiah K P (12′). For Hockey Karnataka, captain Mohd Amir Khan (6′, 9′) and Raj Kumar Pal (4′) sounded the board.

Hockey Punjab beat Hockey Odisha 2-0 to clinch the bronze in the men’s category.



Please share this news
<div id="taboola-below-article-thumbnails"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
  window._taboola = window._taboola || [];
    mode: 'thumbnails-a',
    container: 'taboola-below-article-thumbnails',
    placement: 'Below Article Thumbnails',
    target_type: 'mix'