Friday , April 16 2021
Home / HEADLINES / INDIA / 1218 candidates contesting elections for first phase: EC

1218 candidates contesting elections for first phase: EC

As the political fervor gains momentum, not only political parties but even the Election Commission is fully prepared. Thursday was the last day to file nomination for the third phase of the ensuing Lok Sabha elections. The inspection of the nomination papers will begin on Friday, 8th April will be the last day to withdraw nominations. For the third phase, 115 constituencies across 14 states will go for polls on April 23. The election commission announced that 1218 candidates contesting elections for the first phase. And, the EC is fully prepared for the elections.

The election commission has sought a report from the CEO of Rajasthan, regarding misuse of funds. The commission has already presented its report to the President regarding the case of Rajasthan Governor, Kalyan Singh. As the first phase of elections are only a week away, the election commission is keeping strict watch on everything and has till now seized materials worth Rs. 1618 crore. EC announced that the poll boycott called by NGOs in Mizoram has been called off.

With the election fervour rising, the political parties are also campaigning with full force to woo the voters. While addressing a public rally in Cooch Behar West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee attacked the Centre and its polices.

In Jammu and Kashmir, PDP Chief Mehbooba Mufti addressed an election meeting in Baramulla.

Senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge filed his nomination for the Kalaburagi seat. He will be contesting against Umesh Jadhav, who recently joined hands with the BJP. Post the filing of nomination Kharge was expressed optimism regarding victory.

Amidst the filing of nominations, parties are also announcing names of the candidates. Congress today announced a list of 12 candidates from Madhya Pradesh for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections. The biggest name that emerged in the list was of Chief Minister Kamal Nath’s son, Nakul Nath. Nakul nath will be constesting from Chhindwara Lok sabha seat. Chhindwara has been the traditional seat of the MP Chief Minister, Kamal Nath. The seat is also up for bypoll election for the state.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and TDP President Chandrababu Nadu addresed a rally in Giddalur where he appealed the public for support. Overall, all the parties are addressing as many rallies as possible to reach out to people for support.

Please share this news