Breaking News
Monday , August 21 2017
Home / INDIA / Congress wipeout as muslim wards elect BJP candidates in Udaipur Municipal Corporation

Congress wipeout as muslim wards elect BJP candidates in Udaipur Municipal Corporation

manu raoUdaipur : After thumping victories in the state and general elections, the BJP swept the municipal election by capturing 49 wards out of 55 in Udaipur Municipal Corporation and thus marked a fifth consecutive win in the urban civic body. As speculated, it was the poorest ever performance for the Congress party which could manage to win only 3 seats while one from the Marxist Communist party and two independent candidates won in their respective wards. As results started pouring in from 9am at the counting center Fateh Senior Secondary School, the BJP camp had started celebrating its victory while none of the big leaders from the Congress party were seen on the venue.

What came as a jolt for the congress was its loosening grip in the minority dominated wards which elected BJP candidates to power. Muslim candidates from the congress party Shahid Hussain- ward 20, Shoeb Hussain-ward 36, Shahina Chheepa -ward 38, Rehana Banu- ward 46 and Samina Siddiqui in ward 47 lost the traditional held seats to their BJP opponents. On the other hand congress rebels Nazma Mewafarosh and Rashid Khan from ward 44 and 14 respectively managed to defeat the BJP opponents with a sizable margin. In the last board where Congress played the opposition party with 18 seats, this time the board is sure to have its one sided way with 49 councilors in hand. “ Perhaps the unwise distribution of tickets, faction fracas and to some extent the consecutive previous defeats are the reason for the party’s poorest performance ever” said a leader not wishing to be named. Two of the congress rebels defeated the BJP candidates which indicate that the wrong selection, he added.


About editor